New Release: Cursive – Happy Hollow

Buy it from Insound – Cursive

After more than a year’s hiatus, Cursive’s reemergence finds the freshly reconstituted quartet as self-assured and assertive as ever. And rather than retread familiar artistic ground for which they’ve accrued accolades by the vanload, Cursive has unfurled their most adventurous and accomplished work to date, Happy Hollow. Happy Hollow is an expansion of Cursive’s trademark discordant swell: dissonant yet distinctively melodic guitar sounds and frontman Kasher’s ever-cathartic yowl mesh and clash with horns, piano, accordion and other various instrumentation. Eschewing the stock-in-trade relationship lyrics of recent records for a broader scope, Happy Hollow explores and dissects such themes as shattered American dreams, small-town malaise and religious hypocrisy.

Disk | 1

1. Opening the Hymnal/Babies
2. Dorothy at Forty
3. Big Bang
4. Bad Sects
5. Flag and Family
6. Dorothy Dreams of Tornadoes
7. Retreat!!
8. The Sunks
9. At Conception
10. So-So Gigolo
11. Bad Science
12. Into the Fold
13. Rise Up! Rise Up!
14. Hymns for the Heathen

Happy Hollow

Posted in Uncategorized by with no comments yet.

Leave a Reply